I have now found that getting “Guardians of the Shimmer: DreamTime” printed is a lot more than fronting up to a printer with a couple of pdf files and a smile.
Going for the A5 size recommended:
1. The cover must have bleed and crop marks (but not the bleed lines) – more search as to what those terms meant
2. The text must also have the bleed and crop marks – didn’t know that
3. Not all printers use Word – it seems that InDesign is the buzz application to use

So getting the cover sorted was OK – Joyce knew what I was talking about and got that sorted.
But the text – which I had thoughtfully laid out and mirror-margined (not really required – I’ve had a look at some books and most don’t bother) and “black and whited” every graphic – needed the crop and bleed and Word doers not do that. Google for a solution and the best is so involved you might as well spend the money on getting a professional.
And I read some sage advice from Bookbaby – “5 Secrets of Successful Authors”:
Number 1 thing that a writer should do to promote their work and build their career – WRITE THE NEXT BOOK
Number 2 thing that a writer should do to promote their work and build their career – WRITE THE NEXT BOOK
Number 3 thing that a writer should do to promote their work and build their career – WRITE THE NEXT BOOK

I’ve paid a professional to design the cover – thanks Joyce
I’ve paid a professional to edit the book – thanks Jenny
So I’ll pay to get a professional to format the book.

SO soon there will be a printed, hold-in-your-hand version of my first book.
YAY!!!

Learning, learning, learning…

